for Clarinet, Cello and Orchestra




download PDF of the Clarinet part

download PDF of the Cello part

download PDF of the orchestral score

To purchase orchestral parts please contact Bruce Roter at

To purchase version for Clarinet, Cello and Piano please contact Bruce Roter at


Instrumentation: 2,2,2,2/4,2,3,1/timp.+2/hp/Solo Bb Clarinet, Solo Cello/ Strings.

(a piano reduction of the orchestral accompaniment is available)

Duration: ca. 12 minutes
Performance history Premiere performance on November 30th, 2009 at the Massry Center for the Arts, The College of Saint Rose, Albany, New York by The College of Saint Rose Orchestra, David Bebe, conductor, with Bruce Craig Roter, Clarinet and Cicely Parnas, Cello.

Program Notes:

The Double Concerto for Clarinet, Cello, and Orchestra represents some of the composer’s influences, including the music of Stravinsky, Copland, Hindemith, and Bartok.  
The work is divided into three large sections: an Introduction and Allegro, a lyrical Andante, and a concluding Allegro which recapitulates and develops previous thematic material.  The concerto concludes with an extended cadenza for the two soloists.  Stylistically, the work demonstrates an eclecticism that has remained a hallmark of Roter’s style.  Aggressive dissonance and non-traidic sonorities are balanced with music that is more lyrical and traditionally conceived.  The concerto also displays the composer’s interest in counterpoint, weaving together individual melodies to create intricate textures.